If you have been arrested for or charged with drunk driving in Pennsylvania, the consequences will differ somewhat based on whether or not you have been convicted of a similar offense in the past. Here is an outline of the sanctions you face if found guilty of DUI in PA:
For a first offense, whether you are charged with simple violation of blood alcohol content laws, have a high BAC or the highest BAC, you will be charged with an ungraded misdemeanor. Your sentence can be no more than six months, and can including up to 72 hours of consecutive jail time. The fines can range from $300 to $5,000, with your license suspended anywhere from two months to twelve months.
Pennsylvania has a zero tolerance law of DUI for anyone under the age of 21. If you are convicted of violating the zero tolerance law, you face the possible suspension of your driving privileges for one year, mandatory drug and alcohol evaluation, a fine of up to $500 (along with court costs and restitution), and attendance at a state-approved alcohol highway safety program. If you are younger than 18, you can also face a complaint in juvenile court.
You can get a limited license to travel to and from work after a first DUI offense. You may also be required to complete 150 hours of community service.
For subsequent offenses, minimal and high BAC offenses are still ungraded misdemeanors, but charges involving the highest level of blood alcohol are a 1st degree misdemeanor. Jail sentences can be up to six months. Fines can be as high as $5,000, and not less than $1,500 for highest BAC offenses. You can lose your license for up to 18 months.
Zero tolerance laws are similar, and occupational licenses are subject to strict guidelines.
At Laguna Reyes Maloney, LLP, every client receives a free initial consultation. Contact us by e-mail or call us at 717-233-5292 to schedule a meeting with one of our attorneys. We speak Spanish and understand the impact a criminal charge can have on your efforts to become or remain a permanent citizen.